2026-09-14 · 746.4901(a) · Medium High
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
All rocking equipment (11 total) do not have loose fill.
Correction date recorded: 2026-11-02
Licensed Center
View the official HHSC recordOfficial HHSC provider profile
Report an issue with this page · Corrections and removal process
Corrective action means HHSC requires steps to address compliance concerns; see the official HHSC record for details.
Adverse action means HHSC has taken enforcement action affecting an operation’s permit or ability to operate; see the official HHSC record for details.
Texas HHSC records list 13 inspections dated between October 10, 2023 and October 10, 2026.
The most recent inspection in these records is dated September 14, 2026.
The same records list 30 cited deficiencies dated November 20, 2023 to September 14, 2026 (HHSC risk levels: 14 High, 10 Medium High, 4 Medium, 2 Medium Low).
Correction status recorded by HHSC: 2 corrected at inspection, 28 with a correction date recorded, 0 with no correction date recorded.
HHSC lists a verified correction date for 27 of these citations.
The official HHSC record has the full inspection history and the latest information.
Generated from Texas HHSC state records. Counts and dates come directly from the published state data; no descriptions were written by a model.
View the official state record · Report an issue with this page
This summary is generated automatically from public HHSC records. It restates the official record and may lag behind it. The official state record is the authoritative source: official HHSC record.
Texas Health and Human Services records list 30 cited deficiencies for Bright Scholars Academy in the 3 years before October 10, 2026 (14 High, 10 Medium High, 4 Medium, 2 Medium Low).
Records list 13 inspections in this window. Most recent inspection: 2026-09-14.
| Risk weight | Citations |
|---|---|
| High | 14 |
| Medium High | 10 |
| Medium | 4 |
| Medium Low | 2 |
| Low | 0 |
| Unknown | 0 |
HHSC assigns each standard a risk weight from Low to High. A deficiency is a finding that a minimum standard was not met.
2026-09-14 · 746.4901(a) · Medium High
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
All rocking equipment (11 total) do not have loose fill.
Correction date recorded: 2026-11-02
2026-09-14 · 746.5607(b) · Medium High
Child Passenger Safety Seat System - Not expired or damaged in accident
Booster seats have been used during transportation that expired between 2018-2021.
Corrected at inspection
2026-04-22 · 746.1601 · Medium High
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
One caregiver was supervising 21 children ages 11 months to 4 years old. Two additional caregivers arrived after a few minutes.
Correction date recorded: 2026-04-22
2026-09-14 · 746.5607(b) · Medium High
Child Passenger Safety Seat System - Not expired or damaged in accident
Corrected at inspection: Yes. Correction date: 2026-09-16. Correction verified: Not recorded.
Booster seats have been used during transportation that expired between 2018-2021.
2026-09-14 · 746.4901(a) · Medium High
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-11-02. Correction verified: Not recorded.
All rocking equipment (11 total) do not have loose fill.
2026-04-22 · 746.2207(a) · Medium
Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-22. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Upon arriving to the center, there were multiple children under two years old in a classroom where a movie was being played.
2026-04-22 · 746.2429 · High
Covering Infant's Head or Crib
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-22. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Upon arrival, an infant was sleeping in a bouncer with a blanket over their face.
2026-04-22 · 746.1205(a)(4) · High
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-22. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
A caregiver left 21 children ages infant to four years old alone in a classroom to answer the door at the center.
2026-04-22 · 746.2426(a)(1) · High
Infant May Not Sleep in a Restrictive Device
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-22. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Upon arriving to the center, a child was observed sleeping in a bouncer chair.
2026-04-22 · 746.1601 · Medium High
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-22. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
One caregiver was supervising 21 children ages 11 months to 4 years old. Two additional caregivers arrived after a few minutes.
2026-03-20 · 746.1003(4) · High
Director Responsibilities - Employees Supervised
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-24. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, the director is not ensuring all employees are supervised during hours of operation to ensure children are safe.
2026-03-20 · 746.2805 · High
Prohibited Punishments - No Harsh, Cruel or Unusual
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-24. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, evidence supports caregivers restraining, grabbing and pulling a child.
2026-03-20 · 746.1601 · Medium High
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-24. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, evidence shows one caregiver supervising 26 children ages infant to school age.
2026-03-20 · 746.1605(1) · Medium High
Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-04-24. Correction verified: 2026-04-29.
Based on the information gathered during the DFPS investigation, including video footage, an infant can be seen in the same classroom as school age children. It also shows one caregiver supervising over 26 children ages infant to school age.
2026-02-19 · 746.5625(a) · High
Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-27. Correction verified: 2026-02-26.
The center has not installed the required child safety alarm system in a vehicle used to transport children.
2026-01-28 · 746.603(a)(1) · Medium
Children's Records - Enrollment Agreement
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-04. Correction verified: 2026-01-30.
One child's file reviewed did not have the required enrollment agreement.
2026-01-28 · 746.4907(a)(2) · Medium High
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Nine Inches if Equipment Greater Than 5 Ft.
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-11. Correction verified: 2026-02-09.
A play structure over five feet tall did not have the required nine inches of loose fill material underneath or surrounding it.
2026-01-28 · 746.5625(a) · High
Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-04. Correction verified: 2026-02-19.
One of the centers vehicle used to transport the children did not have the required child electronic child safety alarm.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(3) · Medium High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - Information About Facility
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-01-29. Correction verified: 2026-02-03.
One of the centers vehicle used for transportation did not have the required information about the center.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(2) · High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Medical Information
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-11. Correction verified: 2026-02-03.
One of the centers vehicles used to transport did not have the children's emergency medical transport and treatment authorization forms.
2026-01-28 · 746.401(9) · Medium Low
Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-04. Correction verified: 2026-01-30.
The center did not have a current employee list posted.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(6) · High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - First-aid Kit
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-01-29. Correction verified: 2026-01-30.
One of the vehicles used to transport the children did not contain a first aid kit.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(4) · High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Telephone Numbers for Each Child
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-01-29. Correction verified: 2026-02-03.
One of the vehicles used for transportation did not have the emergency contact phone numbers for the children.
2026-01-28 · 746.4901(a) · Medium High
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-02-11. Correction verified: 2026-02-09.
Outside play equipment did not have the required loose fill or unitary surfacing material.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(1) · High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - List of Children
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-01-29. Correction verified: 2026-02-03.
One of the centers vehicles used for transportation did not contain a list of children being transported.
2026-01-28 · 746.5617(a)(5) · High
Required Equipment in Vehicles - Fire Extinguisher
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-01-29. Correction verified: 2026-02-02.
One of the centers transportation vehicles did not have a fire extinguisher.
2025-01-28 · 746.303(b) · Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2025-01-30. Correction verified: 2025-01-28.
A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
2024-02-26 · 746.605(16) · Medium High
Required Admission Information-Completed Food Allergy Plan
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-03-04. Correction verified: 2024-03-12.
A child in care with a diagnosed fire ant allergy requiring an epinephrine auto injector per documentation by medical professional, did not have the epinephrine auto injector at the operation to accompany the emergency plan.
2024-02-26 · 746.4135(b) · Medium
Children's Products- Annual Certification
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-03-04. Correction verified: 2024-03-12.
The director/ operation did not have the product annual certification on file readily available for review during the inspection.
2024-02-26 · 746.5625(a) · High
Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-03-04. Correction verified: 2024-03-26.
It was observed that the operation has two vehicles for transportation, neither vehicle had a working child safety alarm.
2024-02-26 · 746.1301(a)(6)(A) · Medium High
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - 30 Annual Training
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-03-11. Correction verified: 2024-03-12.
The director only had 2 of the required 30 hours of training on file for review during the inspection for hire date 1/4/23-1/4/24.
2024-02-26 · 746.2421(b) · Medium
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days
Corrected at inspection: Yes. Correction date: 2024-02-26. Correction verified: Not recorded.
There were 3 infants in care during inspection with feeding instructions on file that had not been updated since November 2023, January 4th and December 2023. The operation confirmed these children were in care and not on table food. The operation was able to correct the feeding instructions during inspection when they contacted parents to complete updated forms.
2023-11-20 · 746.1205(a)(2) · High
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2023-12-04. Correction verified: 2023-12-18.
A caregiver in the school age classroom did not know how many children the caregiver was responsible for. The caregiver reported having 18 children then reported having 20 children, there were 20 children in the classroom. The caregiver was working on the sign in and out log to count the children.
2022-04-07 · 746.613(a) · High
Required Immunizations
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2022-04-11. Correction verified: 2022-04-11.
One child's file was missing the DTap and Hep B. immunizations.
2022-04-07 · 746.1311(a) · Medium
Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2022-04-14. Correction verified: 2022-04-11.
The director was missing the annual training hours.
2022-04-07 · 746.901(2) · Medium
Required Personnel Records- Meets Requirements
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2022-04-11. Correction verified: 2022-04-11.
One staff's file was missing the education requirements.
2022-04-07 · 746.1309(a) · Medium
Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2022-04-14. Correction verified: 2022-04-11.
Two staff's files reviewed were missing the annual training hours.[
2022-03-03 · 746.303(b) · Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2022-03-03. Correction verified: 2022-03-03.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 survey data from January 15, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by January 15, 2022, as required
2021-10-07 · 746.1601 · Medium High
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2021-10-22. Correction verified: 2021-10-26.
Based off of information obtained through the investigation, the operation has been out of ratio.
Source: Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation, via data.texas.gov (CC0). See the official record: https://childcare.hhs.texas.gov/Public/InspectionAndComplianceHistory?operationId=1325089
Records reflect only deficiencies published by the state after due process. This page does not rate or rank providers. Check the official record for the latest information.
Provider data fetched: October 10, 2026.