Corrective action means HHSC requires steps to address compliance concerns; see the official HHSC record for details.
Adverse action means HHSC has taken enforcement action affecting an operation’s permit or ability to operate; see the official HHSC record for details.
Plain-English summary of cited deficiencies
State records list 9 cited deficiencies dated January 19, 2024 to July 17, 2026 (1 High, 4 Medium High, 2 Medium, 2 Medium Low risk). Correction status: 0 corrected at inspection, 9 with a correction date recorded, 0 with no correction date recorded.
High risk · Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity (746.1205(a)(4)) Cited July 17, 2026 (correction date recorded: July 31, 2026; correction verified August 14, 2026; technical assistance given). What the record describes: A classroom was left unsupervised when its sole caregiver left to open the facility door and transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when its caregiver left to retrieve a sign-in sheet.
Medium High risk · Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR (746.1315(b)) Cited July 17, 2026 (correction date recorded: July 31, 2026; correction verified August 1, 2026; technical assistance given). What the record describes: A caregiver’s CPR certificate expired in May 2026. Two caregivers did not have current CPR certificates.
Medium High risk · Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment (746.3407) Cited July 17, 2026 (correction date recorded: July 31, 2026; correction verified July 21, 2026; technical assistance given). What the record describes: A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked and had a hole. Padding in the outdoor play area was torn, exposing the padding underneath.
Medium High risk · Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact (746.605(6)) Cited July 17, 2026 (correction date recorded: July 31, 2026; correction verified July 21, 2026). What the record describes: Four reviewed children’s files did not have a complete emergency contact address.
Medium High risk · Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking. (746.1315(a)) Cited July 24, 2024 (correction date recorded: August 7, 2024; correction verified August 2, 2024; technical assistance given). What the record describes: The director and three caregivers were missing CPR and first-aid training.
Medium risk · Director Annual Training - Additional required topics (746.1311(e)) Cited July 24, 2024 (correction date recorded: August 7, 2024; correction verified August 2, 2024; technical assistance given). What the record describes: The director’s October 2022–October 2023 annual training lacked required topics on handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials; building and physical premises safety; and administering medication. Make-up training would not count toward the current training year.
Medium risk · Documented Annual Training- Required Content (746.1309(e)) Cited July 24, 2024 (correction date recorded: August 7, 2024; correction verified August 2, 2024; technical assistance given). What the record describes: Required annual training lacked building and premises safety for the infant caregiver (9/21/22–09/21/23) and after-school caregiver (9/7/22–9/7/23), medication administration for the infant caregiver, and handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials for the after-school caregiver. Make-up training would not count toward the current training year.
Medium Low risk · Report Number of Employees (746.303(b)) Cited January 21, 2025 (correction date recorded: January 23, 2025; correction verified January 23, 2025; technical assistance given); January 19, 2024 (correction date recorded: January 22, 2024; correction verified January 22, 2024; technical assistance given). What the record describes: Narratives describe the center not reporting the number of employees who left employment during the previous year by the required annual deadline.
Counts, dates, risk levels and correction status come directly from the state data. The plain-English descriptions were written automatically from the inspectors' narratives and checked against them by a second automated reviewer; they cover citations dated October 11, 2023 to October 11, 2026. They may contain errors; the official record is authoritative.
This summary is generated automatically from public HHSC records. It restates the official record and may lag behind it. The official state record is the authoritative source: official HHSC record.
Texas Health and Human Services records list 9 cited deficiencies for Bright Stars Academy in the 3 years before October 10, 2026 (1 High, 4 Medium High, 2 Medium, 2 Medium Low).
Records list 5 inspections in this window. Most recent inspection: 2026-08-14.
HHSC risk weights of citations
Risk weight
Citations
High
1
Medium High
4
Medium
2
Medium Low
2
Low
0
Unknown
0
HHSC assigns each standard a risk weight from Low to High. A deficiency is a finding that a minimum standard was not met.
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet…
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2026-07-31. Correction verified: 2026-08-14.
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2025-01-23. Correction verified: 2025-01-23.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-08-07. Correction verified: 2024-08-02.
The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-08-07. Correction verified: 2024-08-02.
The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2024-01-22. Correction verified: 2024-01-22.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
Corrected at inspection: No. Correction date: 2023-04-03. Correction verified: 2023-04-13.
The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.
Source: Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation, via data.texas.gov (CC0). See the official record: https://childcare.hhs.texas.gov/Public/InspectionAndComplianceHistory?operationId=282818
Records reflect only deficiencies published by the state after due process. This page does not rate or rank providers. Check the official record for the latest information.